Planning & Zoning Commission Bylaws

Bryan County Planning & Zoning Commission Bylaws Adopted December 16, 2018 Amended May 7, 2019 Amended January 17, 2023

Article I – Purpose

- 1. The Bryan County Planning & Zoning Commission ("the Commission") was established on March 3, 1956 by resolution of the Bryan County Board of County Commissioners ("County Board").
- 2. The Commission's purpose is to promote the orderly development of Bryan County ("the County") and its environs and to advise the County Board on that subject.
- 3. The Commission is governed by the Code of Georgia.

Article II – Members

- 1. The Commission shall consist of seven members.
- 2. All members of the Commission shall be residents of the County.
- 3. Members shall be qualified by knowledge and experience to make decisions on questions of community growth and development.
- 4. Members of the Commission shall be appointed by the County Board for a term not to exceed four years. The County Board may reappoint members for additional terms.
- 5. When a term is not completed and a vacancy on the Commission results, it shall be filled by County Board appointment for the unexpired portion of the term only.
- 6. The County Board may remove members for malfeasance in office. The County Board also may remove members without limitation in the event that a member is absent from more than two meetings in a quarter or more than four meetings in a calendar year unless an excuse, acceptable to the County Board, is provided.

Article III – Officers

- 1. There shall be two officers of the Commission, a chair and a vice chair. The Community Development Department shall provide a staff member to act as secretary.
- 2. Election of officers shall be held at the final regular Commission meeting of each calendar year. The newly elected officers shall take office on January 1 of the succeeding year.
- 3. Elected officers shall serve in this capacity for one year.
- 4. The Vice Chair shall preside in the absence of the Chair. In the absence of both, the members shall elect an acting Chair from among those members present.
- 5. If the Chair vacates the office prior to completing his or her term, the Vice Chair shall assume the office and serve the remainder of the term. A new Vice Chair shall then be elected at the next regular meeting to fill out the remainder of the term for that year.

Article IV – Meetings

1. The Commission shall hold at least one regular meeting every month and may schedule one or more special meetings or work sessions each month.

- Special meetings of the Commission may be called by the Chair or by any two members upon written request to the Chair or verbal request if the request is made during a regularly scheduled meeting. Notice of a special meeting shall be given in accordance with Title 50, Chapter 14 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, known as the Georgia Open Meetings Law (OCGA § 50-14-1 - §50-14-6).
- 3. The Commission shall prepare and adopt an annual schedule of regular meetings at its last meeting of the calendar year. The Commission's schedule shall be coordinated with the County Board's schedule so referrals of reports and plans to the County Board can be timely.
- 4. A quorum shall be required for the Commission to hold an official meeting and to take action on any matter before it. A majority (one-half plus one) of the members shall constitute a quorum. No action of the Planning Commission shall be valid unless authorized by a majority vote of those present and voting.
- 5. In the absence of a quorum, the members present may discuss matters on the agenda and report the discussion to the Commission for action at an official meeting.
- 6. The Chair shall only vote to break a tie vote.
- 7. No member shall vote on a subject in which he or she has a financial interest or other conflict. The State and Local Government Conflict of Interests Act applies to all members.
- 8. In the case of major differences of opinion among members, the minority shall have the right to file a separate report to accompany the majority recommendation or action.

Article V – Sub-Committees

- 1. The Planning Commission may create sub-committees, as it deems necessary.
- 2. For matters that come before the Commission where committee jurisdiction is not obvious, the Commission Chair shall assign these matters to the Committee of his or her choice.
- 3. At the option of its chair, a committee of the Commission may draw upon one or more citizens of Bryan County who are qualified to help with particular assignments.

Article VI – Records

- All meetings of the Commission and its sub-committees are subject to the Freedom of Information Act and the Open Records Act. A record of the transactions shall be kept of all meetings of any type. After approval by the Commission, these records shall be entered in the Commission's Book of Minutes and placed on the Commission's website, as a public record. When a scheduled meeting is held and a quorum is not present, the discussions shall form a report only and shall be filed with the other Commission material.
- 2. T The name of each member either voting against or abstaining from a motion, shall be recorded.

Article VII – Publicity

1. No release to the public media shall be made unless it has the Commission's approval or unless the Commission has authorized the Chair to make an appropriate release to the public.

Article VIII – Amendments

1. These Bylaws may be added to, amended, or revised at any meeting of the Planning Commission by a majority of a quorum of the Planning Commission, provided that notice of any proposed amendment is given to each member in writing at least two weeks prior to an official meeting.

Article IX – Parliamentary Authority

1. In all matters of parliamentary procedure not specifically governed by these Bylaws or otherwise required by law, the current edition of *Robert's Rules of Order (Newly Revised)* shall apply.